stubdog1

NEED API Call Tags

We are working with a ad partner who we will be featuring in our newsletter.  The are asking us for API call tags/ Placeholder tags for the email address I believe.  How do I get these or where would I find them.  Specifically, they want this ad, when it is clicked, to go to another page (thier sign up page) and add in the email address of the person who clicked. Kind of like an autofill function.  But they only need the email to fill in.

Obviously I am not a developer and would appreciate any help (hopefully dumbed down) for me.

Thanks

CTCT Employee
bsoder

dynamic links bringing an email address over in the URL

Hello,

I would like to help you with your questions but I do need to clarify what you are asking because I may not be clear. You would like it so that when a customer clicks on a specific link in your newsletter, for it to bring over additional information about the person who clicked on the link (in this case, the email address)?

If this is what you are looking for, it is possible to create a dynamic link in the email, if you are using our editor or XHTML emails. This would allow you to pass this information over through the URL. There would have to be a mechnanism set up on receiving side of the link you are linking to, to do something with the email address that you are passing through the URL.

If you would like more information on inserting the contacts email address into the URL by way of a dynamic link, you can check out this FAQ.

If you have any questions please let me know.

Regards,

Benjamin Soder
NOC Analyst
Constant Contact
stubdog1

dynamic links bringing an email address over in the URL

Yes this is exactly what I need it to do.