cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Affiliate LInks go to Bad Request error page

All Star

Affiliate LInks go to Bad Request error page

First, I'm not a developer, but none of the other CC boards sound like they can answer this type of question. I would be VERY grateful for help with this problem.

I ran an email campaign this weekend that included an affiliate link from Affiliate Window. Before sending I sent myself a test email and the links worked perfectly. When the campaign went live and was sent out by CC, the links in the sent emails went to a page that said "Bad Request."  This happened with two emails.  Here's the original email: http://conta.cc/27INQyk 

I did not add any additional tracking or code to my affiliate link, but AW says there was additional tracking on it. I assume this is being generated by CC. I haven't had this problem using links from any other Affiliate program (Commission Junction, Link Connector, etc.)

I think Affiliate Window is a UK company and they say they haven't heard of CC. Here was there reply:

"I’ve looked at the email source code to see the deeplink as it’s been added to the html:

http://www.awin1.com/cread.php?awinmid=5927&awinaffid=254443&clickref=&p=http%3A%2F%2Fww...

It looks like additional GA utm parameters have been added here which are affecting the deeplink.  I’m afraid I or my immediate superior haven’t heard of Constant Contact, so we’re not sure how their own tracking is affecting the link, however this may be something that needs to be queried with them. This is something I can raise with our tech team, however I believe that the utm parameters that Constant Contact have added to the link may be interfering with FMP’s own utm parameters, hence breaking the link. I’m guessing that as the FMP utm parameters are automatically added to all links by us*, we would have to turn this off across the whole account in order for the above link to work.