The Community is hosting an End of Summer sweepstakes! Participants must complete tasks to earn tickets that will enter them with a chance to win a free year of Constant Contact and other great prizes!*
*No Purchase Necessary. For Official Rules, visit here. Constant Contact’s End of Summer 2020 Sweepstakes ends on October, 20, 2020 at 11:50 PM EST.

Oauth and javascript

SOLVED
Go to solution
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor

Oauth and javascript

Hey.

I'm new to Oath.
I am trying to create a multi-site multi-user app, which means the redirect URI will be different for each person deciding to install the app on their server.

Asking each of them to apply for their own API-key is not exactly userfriendly.

If I understood correctly, using the three-legged Oauth 1.0 is the way to go in this scenario?

Also, is it possible to do this using javascript?

I have found very little documentation and code-examples about Oauth,

and even less for javascript. I only managed to find a javascript library without documentation and a warning saying:
"Do not use this library unless you understand the difficulties that cross-domain XMLHttpRequest poses...which I don't.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: Oauth and javascript

That's 100% correct Henrik.  The Client flow does a simple 302 redirect to the callback URL in the browser, not server side. So the browser will load up your static helper-example.com page with the token in the fragment.  You'll simply need to pull that token from the fragement in JavaScript and then pass it back to the parent window.

The last step that you'll need to do on your server is to collect the username.  Which is simply doing this step (note: this can't be done in JavaScript as it results in a cross site scripting error when trying to make  POST request to another domain, it must be done on server side but you can use AJAX to make the page not reload):