Social Media for the Power of Good

Highlighted
Participating Solution Provider

Social Media for the Power of Good

SocialForGood 640x320.jpg

Recently I was attending a newcomers’ picnic at our church, and was sparking up a conversation with someone I had just met. As it usually goes when meeting a new person, I was asking questions to learn more about her. She divulged that her job makes her privy to a lot of horrible details involved with child predators, and that she absolutely despises social media because of how she sees it used by evil people.

I braced myself and tried to prepare an answer if she asked me about what I do for a living. Do I avoid telling her that I help people understand and use social media, or do I use the opportunity to acknowledge that even though so many take to posting on social media with evil or hurtful intentions, or using it as a means to broadcast their angst and pains, there are also so many ways in which it can be used as a force of good?

As it turned out, I did not have to decide on a course of action because she didn’t ask me any questions (whew!). I do, however, want to elaborate with you on a few of the numerous ways that social media can be a Power of Good.

1. Post inspiring and uplifting quotes. Not only are these types of posts proven to get great engagement, they also give your brand a sense of caring and empowerment. Quotes should align with your mission, but also highlight the positive attributes your brand values.
  2. Give other businesses or organizations a “super job” shout-out. If you are impressed with a place of business or one of their employees, deliver a compliment inside of a social media post, then tag that business or use one of their designated hashtags so both they and their fans can enjoy the feel-good mojo.