Contact Signup API Questions

SOLVED
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor

Contact Signup API Questions

Hello. I'm rather new to constant contact, and have a few questions regarding contact signups:

1. Using the CC APIs, can I create a new contact, add them to my main email list, and have an email be sent to them notifying that they are now subscribed?

2. Using the CC APIs, can I create a new contact and have them added to the "Do Not Mail List"? Pending that auto emails are possible (per my first question above), I'm trying to avoid a welcome email go out to those customers, because they opted out on our site's registration form. Even though they don't want emails, I still want to track them.

3. If a contact is in the "Do Not Mail List", will that status stay in tact, even if they are included in a csv file upload of multiple contacts? I want to update my contacts daily based on the customer info I have in my order processing system, but I don't want to overwrite a contacts preference who have opted not receive emails.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: Contact Signup API Questions

Hi, nice to meet you! Here are some answers, let me know if you have any follow-up questions.

1.) The API allows you to set which list you are adding a contact to, as well as who added them. If you set it as an ACTION_BY_CUSTOMER (customer in this case would be you), the API will not send an automated welcome email. If it is set to ACTION_BY_CONTACT, a welcome email will be sent automatically. This welcome email can be set up and customized by logging in to the UI.

2.) You will need to add the contact to a list first, then send them to the Do Not Mail. Like I mentioned in the last point, you can use ACTION_BY_CUSTOMER to avoid sending out any sort of emails, then immediately send them to the do not mail list by sending a DELETE request to the contact's ID.