The Community is hosting an End of Summer sweepstakes! Participants must complete tasks to earn tickets that will enter them with a chance to win a free year of Constant Contact and other great prizes!*
*No Purchase Necessary. For Official Rules, visit here. Constant Contact’s End of Summer 2020 Sweepstakes ends on October, 20, 2020 at 11:50 PM EST.

Issues with API v2

Highlighted
Visitor

Issues with API v2

hello,

I am new to ConstantContact, and was playing around with the API to understand how things work. I was trying to do an upload of some 18k contacts through the API to my constant contact account. Before I did that, there were about 18k contacts already in my account which I deleted entirely.

When I tried to run the code that uploads contacts using AddContact() method, I was getting an exception that said "contact with email ID already exists". I do not have any contacts in my account so the exception error did not make sense to me. When I debugged the application, I observed that the contact with the same emailID was being found and that the existing contact status is "REMOVED".

I am confused as to whether this is some kind of a bug in the API. Can someone help me with this.

Here is my relavant C# code:

foreach (DataRow row in dtUsers.Rows)
            {
                bool contactExists = false;

if (contactService.GetContacts(Convert.ToString(row["sEmailID"]), null, null, null).Results.Count > 0)
                {
                    contactExists = true;
                }

if (!contactExists)
                {
                    Contact ct = new Contact();
                    ct.FirstName = Convert.ToString(row["sFirstName"]);
                    ct.LastName = Convert.ToString(row["sLastName"]);
                    ct.Id = Convert.ToString(row["sID"]);
                    ct.CompanyName = Convert.ToString(row["sOrganizationName"]);
                    ct.Status = "ACTIVE";

EmailAddress em = new EmailAddress(Convert.ToString(row["sEmailID"]));