Sample Java Application

SOLVED
Go to solution
Regular Participant

Sample Java Application

Hi,

I am brand new to constantcontact.com and am looking for a sample application in Java that I can pick apart.

I am not very familiar with using github or other source code repositories. 

Is there any way to find a simple Java desktop application that will show me how to do authentication, basic CRUD for contacts and email campaigns?  If there any consultants reading this and wouldn't mind spending a few billable hours helping me get started I would be very interested in chatting with you.

Thanks in advance for any help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hello,

I've spent a decent bit of time contemplating this, and the best solution to your situation would be to do the following:

1. Download the source code of the SDK from https://github.com/constantcontact/java-sdk

2. Use maven from the command line (or from your IDE) to build the SDK. This will produce a standalone JAR file that will include the required dependencies.

3. Include the JAR file in your project so that you can use the SDK.

Within the SDK, you'll be looking to use the following services to accomplish your objectives:

You can access these services using the ConstantContactFactory class documented here: http://constantcontact.github.io/java-sdk/com/constantcontact/ConstantContactFactory.html

Here's a quick sample of setting up the factory and getting the ContactListService to create a list:

String accessToken="TOKEN", apiKey="KEY";
ContactList newList = new ContactList();

ConstantContactFactory _factory = new ConstantContactFactory(accessToken,apiKey);
ContactListService _listService = _factory.createContactListService();

newList.setName("Test List");
newList.setStatus("ACTIVE");
_listService.AddList(newList)