The Community is hosting an End of Summer sweepstakes! Participants must complete tasks to earn tickets that will enter them with a chance to win a free year of Constant Contact and other great prizes!*
*No Purchase Necessary. For Official Rules, visit here. Constant Contact’s End of Summer 2020 Sweepstakes ends on October, 20, 2020 at 11:50 PM EST.

need help setting up API to add a contact in PHP

Highlighted
Occasional Participant

need help setting up API to add a contact in PHP

Hi, I'm not a PHP developer by trade (ColdFusion actually) but my client needs this done in PHP.  Here's what I've done so far:

1.  I added the oAuth library from the google code website.

2. I have an index.html page (which has an e-mail address form for the user to enter their e-mail address form.

3. I have the oAuth code from David J's post in this forum on using oAuth to authenticate the site.

4.  When I tried the first time to submit an e-mail address, I got redirected to the constant contact authentication page (which is what I expected).  I entered my constant contact usernamd and password and submitted.  Afterwards, I got a page that simply said "an error occurred, please contact us.".

Does anyone have an implementation already done of PHP and oAuth?  I need to get this working today and without any error information at all on the screen I can't even begin to figure it out.  I'm going crazy!

Thanks,

Dave

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Employee

Re: need help setting up API to add a contact in PHP

Hi Dave,

I apologize for the delayed response over the weekend, but I am more than happy to assist you with this. Without seeing the PHP code that you have, it makes it difficult for me to begin troubleshooting what may be happening, but if the user is getting redirected to Constant Contact to authenticate, you must be pretty close to having the successfully working.