cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Ghost" data in deleted contacts

Occasional Contributor

"Ghost" data in deleted contacts

If I delete a contact from the UI, the contact can still be queried from the API. It's just marked as "REMOVED".

 

I cannot add that contact again because the email address is taken. But I can update it. However, when I do so, all of the data that contact had previously pops back into existence. 

 

I'm creating a new object (PHP SDK) and assigning it the ID of the old one, then adding just the properties I need. The data sent to the PUT verb is very lean and doesn't include the "ghost properties". How can I indicate that I also want to remove the old data from this contact? Or is there a way to permanently delete somebody without leaving the ghosts?