cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

disable the 'not allowing numeric URLS'

0 Votes

disable the 'not allowing numeric URLS'

Hi I can't include numerical URLs in the newsletter because Constant Contact won't allow it, can you disable this?

I often want to include links to data files which we store on our cloud files server, they have web addresses like this one

http://83a7383a5e33475eed0e-e819cda5edf0a946af164bb0b2f2ae3c.r0.cf1.rackcdn.com/Nov16EPproblems.pdf

Constant Contact won't let me use these direct links because it says 'numerical URLs' are not allowed.

I have been using a workaround for a few years of creating bit.ly links (like http://bit.ly/FPNov16machine).

But now one of our readers tells me his company's corporate security policies block him from downloading anything via a bit.ly link.

Many thanks

Cheers Karl

6 Comments
CTCT Employee
Status changed to: Open Questions

Thanks for the feedback @karljeffery.

After testing this in my account, I was able to insert this link without issue. Are you receiving a specific error message when trying to insert it? Could you please reply back with a screenshot of the error and the steps you took to insert the link into your e-mail so we can better understand what you're experiencing?

Status changed to: Closed - No Action

Since we haven't heard back on what was happening when you tried to put in this link I'm going to mark this thread as closed. 

Status changed to: Voting Open

Hi @karljeffery 

Thanks for your reply via email. I'm sorry we didn't see it before. I reopened this idea to continue to get an idea of volume.

To give you a quick explanation, a url that starts with the number is not allowed because it gets caught in some preventative code that is designed to stop URL's that contain IP addresses. This is a practice often used by spammers to scrape website information.