CTCT Employee
Bob_B

5 Steps to Improve Your Newsletter

[ Edited ]

Hi everyone, my name is Bob Barton and I am a consultant in the Custom Services department here at Constant Contact. Our group is primarily involved in the creation of email newsletters for our customers. We also receive a number of questions on how to customize the look of a newsletter using Constant Contact standard templates. While getting a newsletter to look exactly the way you like can sometimes seem challenging, here are five steps that can help you along the way:

1.  Use Consistent Fonts for Headlines and Paragraph Text

By using consistent font sizes and colors you can achieve a clean and professional look for your newsletters, while also making them easier to read. Ideally there should be a distinguishable size difference between article headlines and your text, but try to refrain from using multiple font colors.

2.  Keep Spacing Uniform Between Blocks

I recommend addressing spacing after all your content has been inserted. After you have finalized your layout, go back and visually inspect the distance between each block. If there is a noticeable difference between blocks you can either add or remove space beneath the last line of text or image.

3.  Add Your Brand or Logo Colors

Your newsletter’s colors should resemble your company or organization. This simple step often goes a long way in ensuring that your recipients recognize you the moment your newsletter is opened.

Alternate colors can still be used, but only on a limited basis. For example, need to highlight a particular article for a special announcement? You can change the background color for that specific block. Remember, a lighter background color with darker text will generally make your content easier to view on a screen.

4.  Use Images Provided with the Templates to Your Advantage