cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
This area of the Community has been archived.
If you are looking for assistance, please see our Knowledge & Support area. If you are looking to leave feedback, please take a look at the Your Feedback & Ideas area. If you have any questions, you can reach out to our Community team at communitysupport(at)constantcontact(dot)com.

Utilizing additional field info for sending emails

SOLVED
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor

Utilizing additional field info for sending emails

Is there a way to send emails to contacts with content in their additional customzible fields?  Constant Contact allows you to create additional text fields but I cant see how to then sort or send by using the field information. For instance if you have a field for "level" can you send only to "level 1" or "level 2"?

Would I have to create a LIST for each additional text field?

I have a master spreadsheet and would like to periodically overwrite the contacts 'level" information , if I use the TAG function it seems to me it just adds a new tag and doesnt overwrite the old tag.

any help gratefully received

3 REPLIES 3
Honored Contributor

Re: Utilizing additional field info for sending emails

You can send to lists or tags within a list, but you can't send to folks based of the contents of a custom field.

The contents of a custom field can be placed in the body of an email but it can also be searched on using the custom search option.

I found this an interesting question so I did a little testing.  I downloaded a birthday list that had the tag MAY in it.  I then went into the file and replaced the TAG field from MAY to JUNE and then uploaded it.  What I found surprised me.  In addition to the members of the list being added to the JUNE tag they remained with the MAY tag as well.   I was hoping to over write that field as it wouuld have a normal field.

CTCT is this a BUG ????