Change og:image for social media posts?

CherylW7414
Campaign Collaborator

I'm an admin for my company's Facebook page, and I do not want to link that page to our Constant Contact account via my personal account.

Is there any way to specify the og:image for a campaign so that when I copy/paste the link to a Sent campaign to Facebook, the post doesn't use the first image in the email by default?

Top Answer
William_A
Administrator

I'm not aware of any platform that doesn't require explicitly connecting your social account so it can have the permissions to connect with that account and platform's API for pulling metrics and creating posts/replies. If it doesn't require logging into your social account to connect the two, then it would be sending you directly to the platform with a partially pre-built post, which would operate in the same way as if you'd copied the URL and pasted it into a new post directly on the native social platform's site. The point of the social share / inbox system requiring account connections is to 1) make sure we're compliant with the platforms' API expectations and permissions, and 2) make sure we're able to pull the relevant reporting info.

You can always post directly to the platforms using the email's permanent URL, if you'd prefer to not use our system for sharing your emails on social platforms.

- - -

Regarding the topic of the original post, it's been established that the only way to currently workaround the inability to set your email webpage versions' link preview info, would be to include an image with the post, so applicable social platforms' don't try to generate a preview of the link. 

For further voting, voicing of use cases, and other info regarding the development of a link preview setting, I'd advise checking out this Feedback thread.

11 REPLIES 11
William_A
Administrator
0 Votes

Hello @CherylW7414 ,