How to properly delete lists?

PaulaP092
Participant

How to properly delete lists?

I have this problem every time I go to delete a list. I select "delete list and contacts". However the contacts are not deleted from the account, they are merely moved to "contacts not on a list". So I am still paying for them unless I go through the trouble of making a segment, adding that segment to a list, and then deleting that list. It seems to have something to do with whether or not I fully open the list before deleting it. If I delete it from the main list of lists, it doesn't properly delete. If I open the the individual list, select all names, and hit delete-that works. I have confirmed this by looking at my active contacts as I take these actions. Is there a way to correctly delete from the main list page? This being the page where I see all the lists by name. Or do I need to go in and open up each individual one, hit select all, then delete to get it to delete correctly?

1 REPLY 1
Zoe_H
Employee

Hello @PaulaP092,

 

Thank you for reaching out to the Community! The proper way to delete the list and contacts so you do not have to pay for them anymore is to go inside a list, select them all and then choose "delete the list and the contacts" option. I do apologize for any confusion with our process. 


Zoe H.
Community & Social Media Support

Did I answer your question? If so, please mark my post as an "Accepted Solution" by clicking the Accept as Solution button in the bottom right hand corner of this post.

You're not alone on your email marketing journey. Connect with a Marketing Advisor to see how they can help you develop the right strategy for your business and get the most out of your Constant Contact experience.