Updated: October 2017
When you enable confirmed opt-in for your account we use this status to let you know who hasn't responded yet. Confirmed Opt-in (a.k.a. double opt-in) is the strictest way to obtain permission to send email campaigns. It requires a contact to respond to an email confirmation in order to be added to your list. If the contact doesn't respond, he or she won't receive any further campaigns from you and will be listed as awaiting confirmation.
Unfortunately, you can't email these people, move them, or export them from the account unless they confirm their interest. Check out this FAQ for more information.