When a customer unsubscribes does it remove them from that group or from all the groups?

BrentonB34
Participant

When a customer unsubscribes does it remove them from that group or from all the groups?

Hi, 

 

We have a newsletter that has been going out to our customers, and they have been unsubscribing to it. We send out important information on this same group and they are now calling up saying they didn't get it because they unsubscribed.

 

Is it possible to have a group set up for the newsletter and a seperate group for the important information, that if they unsubscribe from the newsletter they will still receive the important information? 

 

Thank you.

 

 

1 REPLY 1
William_D
Moderator

Hello @BrentonB34 ,

 

When a contact unsubscribes, we have them confirm that they wish to opt out of all emails coming from the sending account. By continuing, this would take them out of all lists they're a part of.

If you're wanting your contacts to opt themselves in and out of specific lists, they would need to use the Update Profile link. This allows them to select whatever lists you want to have publicly available for them to pick from. 


William D
Community & Social Media Support

Did I answer your question? If so, please mark my post as an "Accepted Solution" by clicking the Accept as Solution button in the bottom right hand corner of this post.

Anyone can be a marketer! Visit our Blog & Resources page to brush up on the latest tips and tricks.