Checkbox on my aspx form

Occasional Participant

Checkbox on my aspx form

Hi,

What I'm trying to do should be simple I hope. All I want to do is add a checkbox to my already complete form I designed in asp.net that if checked will automatically send a request to constant contact to add to my mailing list. I need a detailed approach to make this happen cos I'm new to this. Thanks in advance.

5 REPLIES 5
Employee

Hello, In order to add a checkbox that, if checked, will add the contacts to a list to be sent newsletters, you will first need to add the checkbox to your web form.

Once this is done, you would need to add an if statement in your code, where the form is being submitted, that checks to see if the button is checked.

If it is checked, you would need to do a POST call to the Contact Collection API, with XML that you create for the contact. You can find out more information on how to format your XML, as well as how to do the POST call here.

Our Sample Forms have examples of doing a POST to the Contact Collection API using ASP.NET. Also, if you run into any issues and have more questions please let us know on the forums.

Regards,

Benjamin Soder
NOC Analyst
Constant Contact
Occasional Participant

Thanks Ben for your response but I'm still lost because I'm using asp.net for the first time so is it possible to break down exactly what I need to do in steps so I can just follow it? Thanks in advance.

Employee

Hi,

While I am not an expert in ASP.NET, I can try to give you a rough walkthrough on how to do this. However, if you would like more hands on help with ASP.NET programming, we do have a marketplace that has a listing of Solution Providers who may be able to help you further if you get stuck in something. These Solution Providers are third party individuals or organizations who have expressed interest and experience in working with Constant Contact integrations.