cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create a signup form that limits user to one list

Create a signup form that limits user to one list

Hi, I'm new to constant contact, and have been looking for an example of code that would allow me to create a signup form that limits the user to one list. Currently my client has created a number of lists which are available for signup on from the main website (http://www.collectiveeye.org - the 'email list' link), but we are creating a separate website for a film that is in development that we would like to have a newsletter for, and just limit them to one specific list (and not have this 'general list' and other lists available - that is here - http://www.collectiveeye.org/queen/newsletter.html ).

Sounds simple, but I just can't find anything. Apologies if this has been discussed -- I've searched, but may not have the right terminology to find it..

cheers,

barry
32 REPLIES 32

RE: Create a signup form...

Hi Barry,

What you're looking to do is something the API is able to do. The problem I think you're running into is that the API is just the interface, it needs to be programmed into a server or client script in order to be used to do what you want to. There is a php example here that does basically what you're looking to do. You can use that as a starting point if you're familiar with php and modify it as you need or use it as a guide for how to accomplish what you're looking to if you use a different language.
Dave Berard
Senior Product Manager, Constant Contact

Great, thanks! I was able to

Great, thanks!

I was able to use this script, but I do have a question. The user is not sent an opt-in message to validate the email address using this form. We want to make sure people aren't signed up who don't want to be signed up, of course, and I imagine the opt-in method is Constant Contact's preferred way of having people sign up for lists. Is there a way to do this.