cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Making Custom Changes to the Constant Contact Embedded Sign-up Form

Solution Provider

Copy of ConnectEmailThruWebsite(1).png

This may be a little technical and geeky for some, but as a web designer I am often asked to make opt in forms look better on my clients’ websites. With the variety of WordPress templates out there, the default settings for a Constant Contact list sign up form don’t always fit. While there are WordPress plugins like Bloom, that will let you style opt in forms in fun ways, sometimes you just want to tweak something small like the color of the form heading or the default width. Maybe you have a custom site rather than WordPress and would prefer to use a local version of the style sheet.

Even if terms like embed code, CSS, HTML, link rel, or style sheet are foreign to you; if you work with a professional web designer, they’ll understand now to make these changes. Ready to dive into the weeds with me? Let’s go…  

Hopefully you read my previous article about connecting lists to websites, so you are familiar with how to grab the opt-in form embed-code for use on a website. If not, you may want to brush up on that part first.

Get the CSS File for Your Sign-Up Form

For these tips, you will make a copy of the style sheet that is referenced in the embed code of a list opt-in form, save it to your client's web server, tweak the saved style sheet, and then link the opt-in code to the local copy with your custom changes, rather than use the default version.

The CSS styles used in the embedded sign-up form from my examples are located at this link hosted by Constant Contact: 'https://static.ctctcdn.com/h/contacts-embedded-signup-assets/1.0.2/css/signup-form.css'

I copy the link from the embed code provided by my client and paste it into a browser to load the CSS file. I then make a local copy of the file for my edits.