cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When it comes to personalization, there is a fine line between creepy and delightful. Where are you?

Solution Provider

Do you want free eggs?

I do.

That’s why I gave Kroger, a regional grocery store, my phone number, mailing address, email, cell phone and probably more. In exchange, based on my buying habits, they send me coupons and sometimes I get free eggs.

I have a friend, from France, and he doesn’t care about free eggs. He prefers to pay a little more to not give out his data and lose that privacy.

And that’s okay, but as a marketing professional I think he is losing out, but he isn’t alone.

Now, when my Kroger direct mail arrives I know that it is customized to me and I open it. Personalization goes a long way to getting customers to open direct mail and email.  Take a look at these stats:

• According to Aberdeen, personalized email messages improve click-through rates by an average of 14% and conversions by 10%.
  • eConsultancy found that 74% of marketers said targeted personalization increases customer engagement.
  • Campaign Monitor found that emails with personalized subject lines are 26% more likely to be opened.

I could go on and on and on about the success of personalization and segmentation, but I will save that for another post. Just know that it works, when used responsibly.

Now, have you noticed that when you go shopping online at Nordstrom, Joss and Main, and Amazon that ads for the products you were looking at show up in your Facebook feed and on other websites?

That’s called “retargeting” and it is actually frustrating a lot of consumers and it is thanks to cookies.

So when do we have too much information and where is the line on what we can and cannot use?