cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A - B Testing

SOLVED
Participating Solution Provider

A - B Testing

I want to start testing subject lines.  I have a list of 24,000 subscribers about 18% open all the time.  How do I create the list for the A:B test?

Sincerely,
Ray Higgins
Cybermail Marketing
ray@cybermailmarketing.com
17 REPLIES 17
Honored Contributor

Re: A - B Testing

Hi Ray,

A/B Testing is manual process but it can be done by :

1. Create two new test contact lists in Constant Contact.
  2. Copy (not move) or import one half of your contact list into each test list.
  3. Create two copies of your next email: "Copy A" and "Copy B".
  4. Send Copy A to one-half of your contact list at a time of day or week that you believe will be popular. 
  5. Send Copy B to the other half of your list at a different time of day or the week.
  6. Compare the open rates for each email about 48 hours after each one is sent.
  7. Repeat steps 1-5 a few times to determine which days of the week and times of day result in the best open rates.

I hope this helps,

Jarrad

If you find my post helpful, and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"

Are you on Twitter? Follow me here!

Hi Jarrad, I did just that but my client wants me to make two lists n=250 from 28,000 subscribers.  Then he wants me to do an A/B test on those two lists.  In 12 hours he wants to decide which copy proved better.  Then he wants to use that format to send to the whole population.  How do I pull two lists of 250 each without sending them an email twice?  ...once with the test and once when we do the full send?

Sincerely,
Ray Higgins
Cybermail Marketing
Honored Contributor

Hi Ray,