cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why Does An Autoresponder Cause a Bounce

Occasional Participant

Why Does An Autoresponder Cause a Bounce

I am new to CC - previously using a competitor for about 6 years.

In my first major mailing - I had a large number of bounces caused by auto-responders indicating that the person was out of their office (several of whom were attending a training conference I was hosting). Why does an "out of the office" auto-responder cause a bounce? I am unnecessarily losing emails over this - particularly if these folks always have their auto-responder on.

7 REPLIES
CTCT Employee

Re: Why Does An Autoresponder Cause a Bounce

Hey @CurtV1,

I'd be happy to shed some light on the issue today! I assume you are referring to the customers who have a status of "Vacation/ Auto Reply". When our system sends to an email address and it is rejected or sent back to us, it will give us a reason that the server rejected the email. I understand the need to reach those customers consistently! I would recommend also giving our Deliver-ability team a call and they can go over all bounced email addresses and see what needs to be done differently to avoid them bouncing. 1-866-433-8499

Desi_B
Community & Social Media Support

If you find my post helpful, and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution" by clicking the Accept as Solution button in the bottom right hand corner of this post.

Increase your profitability by integrating your email marketing and social media.  Download this guide and learn how you can achieve great results with email marketing and social media combined!
Highlighted
Occasional Participant