Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Opens and Clicks

SOLVED
Occasional Contributor

Opens and Clicks

I am rather new to Constant Contact.

I have read that the reporting of 'opens' is not always accurate.  If fact, I was told by one of my contacts that they received my newsletter.  When I checked, she was listed among the "Did Not Open"  My question is this:  If a contact uses a preview pane in their email client they don't need to open the email to read it, is that one of the ways that the 'opens' are not always correctly recorded?

Thanks

Tags (3)
14 REPLIES 14
Visitor

"Did not open"

Hi Everyone,

When reviewing campaign performace; e.g. "opened" vs "bounced" vs. "not opened," does number 3 mean that the receipient simply trashed it without opening it, the email landed in a spam folder, or the reiceipient has merely left the item in their inbox unattended?

Or any one of the above?

TIA

DL

Tags (2)
Honored Contributor

Re: "Did not open"

DNO means that CT had no way to positively confirm it was opened. Its not the same as a bounce or SPAM report which each have their own reporting points.

A small image is included in each email, when that image is viewed the program considers it opened ( not necessarily read ).

Common practice is to wait a few days, copy the original email, rename the subject field and send it to the DNO list.

I consider this a dynamic A/B test of the subject line.  he-he

Tony Schaefer
Let us consult with you on your project
Accredited CTCT GOLD Solution Provider
Constant Contact All Star 2009-2010-2011-2012
www.cliquemarketing.biz

Frequent Visitor

Those that did not open

I need to see a list, alphabetically, of those that did not open the newsletter.  Not just those that were sent.  Now I have to compare the list of opens to the list of those sent and I don't have time or staff to do that.

Tags (2)
Honored Contributor

Re: Those that did not open

Hello @MichaelD6550 ,