cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Constant Contact wants to help you succeed! We’re celebrating our professional service programs on the Constant Contact Community this month and you have a chance to try one of the services for free! Learn more.

Using Java API to update contacts

Occasional Participant

Using Java API to update contacts

I am new to Constant Contact API. I am using Java API to try to read and update/add contacts. I am able to get existing contact without any issue. However, when I tried to update existing contact or add new contact I always get exceptions. Can you please let me know why this is happeneing? What esle do I need to do first in order to update or add new contacts? Thanks

com.constantcontact.exceptions.service.ConstantContactServiceException: com.constantcontact.exceptions.service.ConstantContactServiceException: Response came with errors from WebService. Please see error info.
    at com.constantcontact.services.contacts.ContactService.updateContact(ContactService.java:369)
    at AceeeSync.main(AceeeSync.java:40)
Caused by: com.constantcontact.exceptions.service.ConstantContactServiceException: Response came with errors from WebService. Please see error info.
    at com.constantcontact.util.ConstantContactExceptionFactory.createServiceException(ConstantContactExceptionFactory.java:13)
    at com.constantcontact.services.contacts.ContactService.updateContact(ContactService.java:366)
    ... 1 more

5 REPLIES 5
Occasional Participant

Re: Using Java API to update contacts

can someone from Constant Contact please help me with this?

Here are the simple code I wrote:

ContactService cs = new ContactService(token,api);

Contact c = new Contact();

try{

c =cs.getContact("1");

System.out.println(c);

c.setCellPhone("xxxxxxxxxx");
            c = cs.updateContact(c, true);     
            System.out.println(c);
        }

catch(ConstantContactServiceException ccse) {
            ccse.printStackTrace();

}