If an event list is longer than 500, allow sequential API get calls.

user902039
Rookie
0 Votes

Hello, I am James from Chicago. I am facing some problems.

Since the API GET limit is 500, I am unable to get any newly added events (all of which start with the alphabetic letters U-Z). Of course, I have no way of knowing how many events I have actually saved, but the PHP count($events->results) returns 500. (which explains why some events are missing).

Is there a method to run consecutive API GET calls to retrieve the following 500 events (501-1000), as 500 is the upper limit for optimizing back-end data retrieval? If not, can Constant Contact archive the 500 events being obtained from six years ago so that new events are available? By the way, the REST API is the only one where this issue occurs (which I use to create workshop sign-in sheets). The widgets on the Constant Contact website accurately display all the new events.

5 REPLIES 5
user902039
Rookie
0 Votes

Being a webmaster, I appreciate this platform

XinwangN
Rookie
0 Votes
Courtney_E
Employee
0 Votes

Hello James,

Thank you for reaching out to Constant Contact API Developer Support. My team is here to assist outside software developers with questions about building into Constant Contact's API.

When making calls to our Legacy V2 API's Events Collection Endpoint, the results returned are paginated, so you should be able to retrieve data for all of the event campaigns within the account by making one or more additional calls:

First call (for results 1-500)

At the beginning of your response body, you will see a value for "pagination" that contains "next_link" which you can use to call the second page of results:

GET 

https://api.constantcontact.com/v2/eventspot/events?limit=500&api_key={API_KEY}

Response body:

"meta": {

"pagination": {

"next_link": "/v2/eventspot/events?next={NEXT_PAGE_VALUE}"

}

},

"results": [

{

"id": "{EVENT_ID}",

"name": "{EVENT NAME}",

[...]