This may help: After the contacts you want to move are added to the new list you can remove all the contacts you added to the new list from the old list by going to the new list, and selecting all contacts in that entire list, and then removing all of them from the old group they were in, since there is an option to do that. The assumption here is that you don't want any of the contacts you moved to the new list or any other contacts that are already in the new list to also be in the old list. Hope that's not too confusing. The good news is that worked for me - I just tried this and it worked fine.
... View more