Opt in for third-party list

MarcF388
Campaign Collaborator

Hi. I'm new to CC. I'm looking to import a third-party list for sending those people our client's newsletter. I understand your policies about first getting their opt-in. I thought I read in CC's help materials that an email can be sent out requesting that those people opt-in. Is that correct? Can you point me to instructions for sending such an email? 

5 REPLIES 5
William_A
Administrator

Hello @MarcF388 ,

Correct, this would be an automated function if the account importing the contacts has advanced email permissions turned on. Once turned on, the Confirm Opt-In email will be available for editing, and will send automatically to new sign-ups. If you're importing the contacts, you can still manually send the (re)Confirm Opt-In to them after the import, which will place them in Awaiting Confirmation permission status, until they've clicked the link in the Confirm Opt-In email.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
William A
Community & Social Media Support
MarcF388
Campaign Collaborator
0 Votes

Thank you William! That's what I thought I read but I couldn't find it again. I'll click through the links that you've provided and will get back to you if I have more questions. Hope to import the third-party list and do the opt-in email this later this week!

MarcF388
Campaign Collaborator
0 Votes

William, I have a few questions if you can please assist. We've been retained under contract by a California county to prepare and send an official monthly newsletter to residents of their county.

I'd like to discuss with someone at Constant Contact via a phone call best practices for correctly notifying email newsletter that this is an official newsletter, including the way we fill out header/footer fields including in the opt-in and welcome emails.