Got a 'How do I' question? Join our live 'Ask a Trainer' session happening now for instant help and pro tips!

Uploading New Contact Sheet to Existing Constant Contact List?

SOLVED
Go to solution
CDres
Rookie
0 Votes

When uploading a new contact sheet from my computer to an existing contact list on Constant Contact, will old names (that are no longer listed on the contact sheet I am importing), be removed from the Constant Contact list? Or do I have to create a new Constant Contact list every single time I upload an updated contact sheet? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
William_A
Administrator
0 Votes

Hello @CDres ,

 

When you upload a contact list, the system checks for new information in already present contact fields. So if you upload a list with a contact (email address) that has a value in the first name column different from its current first name value, then the newer one will be reflected after the upload is complete. If a field is blank or not included in the reupload, then the existing info will not be overwritten in the reupload.

 

Based on your description, it sounds like you may also be wondering if uploading a file to an already existing list will erase any contacts not included in the reupload? If that's what you mean, then no, uploading lists doesn't overwrite contacts not included in those lists. If you're needing to update a certain list's membership to no longer include contacts that aren't part of your upload, then you'll need to consider whether you're:

  1. wanting the contacts not on the list to absolutely not be among your active contacts, or
  2. simply remove the unincluded contacts from the list, but otherwise keep them among your active contacts.

In situation A, you're going to want to go into the list you'll be reuploading to, select-all the contacts, and delete them. When you perform the reupload with the updated contact file, our system will restore information for those deleted contacts that are being re-added, and update any different contact fields as necessary.

 

In situation B, I'd advise simply deleting the list only, which will keep all those contacts in your account, but otherwise unbind them from that one particular list. Then reupload your updated contact file as normal, and recreate the list on the list selection step of the upload.

 

If you need clarifications or elaborations on either of these, just let us know here in the thread or the automated @ mention email, and we'll see if we can break down the process further.

 

See also:

Formatting contact files for upload


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
William A
Community & Social Media Support

View solution in original post

1 REPLY 1
William_A
Administrator
0 Votes

Hello @CDres ,

 

When you upload a contact list, the system checks for new information in already present contact fields. So if you upload a list with a contact (email address) that has a value in the first name column different from its current first name value, then the newer one will be reflected after the upload is complete. If a field is blank or not included in the reupload, then the existing info will not be overwritten in the reupload.

 

Based on your description, it sounds like you may also be wondering if uploading a file to an already existing list will erase any contacts not included in the reupload? If that's what you mean, then no, uploading lists doesn't overwrite contacts not included in those lists. If you're needing to update a certain list's membership to no longer include contacts that aren't part of your upload, then you'll need to consider whether you're:

  1. wanting the contacts not on the list to absolutely not be among your active contacts, or
  2. simply remove the unincluded contacts from the list, but otherwise keep them among your active contacts.

In situation A, you're going to want to go into the list you'll be reuploading to, select-all the contacts, and delete them. When you perform the reupload with the updated contact file, our system will restore information for those deleted contacts that are being re-added, and update any different contact fields as necessary.

 

In situation B, I'd advise simply deleting the list only, which will keep all those contacts in your account, but otherwise unbind them from that one particular list. Then reupload your updated contact file as normal, and recreate the list on the list selection step of the upload.

 

If you need clarifications or elaborations on either of these, just let us know here in the thread or the automated @ mention email, and we'll see if we can break down the process further.

 

See also:

Formatting contact files for upload


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
William A
Community & Social Media Support
Updates
Just Getting Started?

We’re here to help you grow. With how-to tutorials, courses, getting-started guides, videos and step-by-step instructions to start and succeed with Constant Contact.

Start Here

73% of SMBs express doubt that their marketing strategy is effective. Does this sound familiar? Read our Small Business Now Report to learn how you can tweak your strategy to see better results.

Go read our article
Upcoming Webinars
Aug 07
Constant Contact Community Walkthrough and Demo
2:00 PM - 3:00 PM EST
Jul 25
Webinar: Master Your Digital Marketing Metrics
2:00 PM - 3:00 PM EST