Removing multiple contacts accidentally added to another list

MichaelD65300
Participant

Hello!

I have multiple contacts on list A, and multiple different contacts on list B.

List A was accidentally added to list B.

Is there a way to identify, as a group, list A in the new larger list B, and separate them back out from list B?

I know I can go through them one by one, but there are 1000s of contacts I'd have to go through.

Possible to do them as a group?

Thank you!

2 REPLIES 2
William_A
Moderator

Hello @MichaelD65300 ,

 

If there were absolutely no contacts on both lists prior to the accidental add, then you can just go to List A, select-all, then remove them from List B.

 

If you think there were some contacts that were on both lists prior to the accident, you can try going to an email that was only sent to List B, select-all those contacts in the Sent report, then add them to List B to essentially refresh it to what it was at that particular sendout's point (minus anyone that'd unsubbed since then).

 

Otherwise, there's nothing else that'd really indicate the difference between the two lists prior to accidentally merging them.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
William A
Community & Social Media Support
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Did I answer your question? If so, please mark my post as an "Accepted Solution" by clicking the Accept as Solution button in the bottom right hand corner of this post.

Anyone can be a marketer! Visit our Blog & Resources page to brush up on the latest tips and tricks.
William_A
Moderator

Another potential option, @MichaelD65300 , if you're not finding an email that was only sent to List B when restoring it, would be to make a segment. The segment would need to have the criteria of:

  • Contact Activity > Were Sent > Specific Email > the email you'd sent to that list
  • AND
  • List Membership > On list > your List B

Once that segment is calculated, you can use it to restore List B after removing all the List A contacts, by adding the segment to List B.

 

If the change to your contacts was done within the last 24 hours, you could call our general support to confirm security permissions and petition our Tier 2 team to do a contact rewind. However there's no guarantee that the rewind will be entirely successful or a complete reversal of the accidental merge. Even still, it's usually the method that requires the least effort for your sake.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
William A
Community & Social Media Support
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Did I answer your question? If so, please mark my post as an "Accepted Solution" by clicking the Accept as Solution button in the bottom right hand corner of this post.

Anyone can be a marketer! Visit our Blog & Resources page to brush up on the latest tips and tricks.
  • Support Tips

    Reporting Metrics

    "Authenticating your emails is the best way to ensure your emails achieve maximum deliverability. If you have your own domain, setting up self-authentication is especially important! " - Will

    See Article
    Avatar
  • Support Tips

    Call-To-Action Links

    "Target your most engaged contacts by creating a segment. Create a special offer or show your appreciation!" - Caitlin

    See Article
    Avatar
  • Support Tips

    Read Before You Send a Test Email

    "Did you know? You can send unlimited test emails to your verified email address, but only 50 in a 24-hour period to non-verified email addresses." - Nick

    See Article
    Avatar