Delete from one list: Does that mean delete from all lists?

SOLVED
Go to solution
amyloo
Member

Delete from one list: Does that mean delete from all lists?

delete contacts.PNG

 

This new dialog box threw me, and I want to fully understand what it means. I periodically weed out bounced email addresses that are "Recommended for removal." 

 

I *think* the warning used to specify that the selected contacts would not be unsubbed from other lists if they are on more than one list. The new warning doesn't say that so I want to know if that means they will be removed from my contacts altogether. Of course, I guess if they are undeliverable I shouldn't want them on any list.

 

Advice? Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
William_D
Moderator

Hello @amyloo ,

 

You're probably thinking of when you delete a list and it gives the little message saying that it'll only delete the list and any contacts that are only in the list about to be deleted, and no others.

 

For more info on deleting contacts

 

For more info on removing contacts from lists (without deleting them)

 

For more info on deleting lists

 

The message you're seeing is for bounced emails. You typically want to delete (and unsubscribe) bounces unless you know there's a specific error with a bounce that can be corrected.

 

For more info on managing bounces


William D
Community & Social Media Support

Did I answer your question? If so, please mark my post as an "Accepted Solution" by clicking the Accept as Solution button in the bottom right hand corner of this post.

Anyone can be a marketer! Visit our Blog & Resources page to brush up on the latest tips and tricks.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
William_D
Moderator

Hello @amyloo ,

 

You're probably thinking of when you delete a list and it gives the little message saying that it'll only delete the list and any contacts that are only in the list about to be deleted, and no others.

 

For more info on deleting contacts

 

For more info on removing contacts from lists (without deleting them)

 

For more info on deleting lists

 

The message you're seeing is for bounced emails. You typically want to delete (and unsubscribe) bounces unless you know there's a specific error with a bounce that can be corrected.

 

For more info on managing bounces


William D
Community & Social Media Support

Did I answer your question? If so, please mark my post as an "Accepted Solution" by clicking the Accept as Solution button in the bottom right hand corner of this post.

Anyone can be a marketer! Visit our Blog & Resources page to brush up on the latest tips and tricks.

View solution in original post

amyloo
Member

Ah. You're probably right that I was thinking of deleting a list. Thanks for reading my mind when I wasn't doing such a good job of knowing my own mind!