broken unsubscribe link

HelenR04
Campaign Collaborator

For the first time, today, when I do the check before scheduling my email - I got a notice that the unsubscribe link in the footer is broken.  I actually went to it in the preview mode, and it does not seem to work.  

That isn't something I can fix in the footer. 

Anything from Constant Contact about this??

5 REPLIES 5
William_A
Administrator
0 Votes

Hello @HelenR04 ,

This is functioning as intended, since the unsubscribe link isn't supposed to work prior to sending out (previews and test sends). When sent, it will be coded so that the email address being directly sent to can explicitly unsubscribe from you.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
William A
Community & Social Media Support
BethD469
Campaign Collaborator

Hello @William_A ,

I am also experiencing @HelenR04 's issue for the first time in the many years I've been using Constant Contact. I understand that the unsubscribe link does not function until the email is live. I think our question is more, why are we suddenly getting an error message about the unsubscribe link when performing a "Check for Errors" under "Preview & Test"? Is this related to an update on CC's end, or is it a glitch?

Thanks,

Beth

Nick_S
Administrator

Hi @BethD469 and @HelenR04,

Thank you for the additional information. I did some more digging and it does look like this experience is something we're tracking and investigating. We recently made updates to the footer section so it is more customizable, which I think is why this error only recently started appearing. I'll track this in your accounts so you can be notified when a resolution is found.

Elevate your marketing with Constant Contact's Professional Design Services! From eye-catching email templates to custom branding and social media graphics, our professional design services are tailored to boost your business's impact and engagement.

LifeC7
Rookie
0 Votes

Hello,