cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Build Your Email List with Social Media and Constant Contact

Authorized Local Expert

As a social media trainer, I can't stress enough the importance of integrating social media with email marketing.

One of the questions I always seem to get is, ‘How can social media help me build my contact list?’ My answer is simply this, provide customers and prospects a way to opt-in to your email list on every one of your social media platforms. No matter where you are online, customers should - very easily - be able to join your mailing list.

As a small business owner, when you are marketing your business online, one of the things you should focus on is building your email list. There are a number of ways that I could show you how to build your email list both offline and online, but here are just a few ways you can do this using two tools, that I personally could not do without. The first is Constant Contact's email marketing, and the second is social media - Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.

So, how do you begin?

You have people coming to your Facebook page and that is great, but a good way to get those people who have liked your Facebook page to join your mailing list is to add a join my mailing list tab on your Facebook page. You will find instructions for doing this in this article, "How do I add the Facebook Join My Mailing List App to my Facebook fan or business page?"

Just look at the image below to get an idea of what it could look like.  In the beginning you will see Constant Contact's default 'Join My Mailing List' image, but you can customize it to match your brand if you'd like.

Now, let's take a look at how you can build your email list with Twitter.

Twitter gives you 160 characters in the bio section, so why not use twenty or so of those characters to add your 'Join My Mailing List' link for people to join your email list? See how it looks on my Twitter profile in the image below?